Skip to main content

Remuneration Committee

The Remuneration Committee is comprised to exercise independent judgement and consists only of independent non-executive directors. For further details, the terms of reference can be found here.

Remuneration Committee

Chairman Luc Vandevelde
Committee members Simon Murray
  Professor Jürgen Schrempp (until 29 July 2008)
  Anthony Watson
  Philip Yea

Management attendees

Chief Executive Vittorio Colao (from 29 July 2008)
  Arun Sarin (until 29 July 2008)
Group HR Director Ronald Schellekens (from 1 January 2009)
  Terry Kramer (until 1 January 2009)
Group Reward Director Tristram Roberts

External advisers

During the year, Towers Perrin supplied market data and advice on market practice and governance. PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP provided performance analysis and advice on plan design and performance measures.

The advisers also provided advice to the Company on general human resource and compensation related matters. In addition, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP also provided a broad range of tax, share scheme and advisory services to the Group during the 2009 financial year.


The Remuneration Committee had five scheduled and a further three other ad hoc meetings during the year.